Mainland Portugal has been added to the quarantine list for England, but the islands of the Azores and Madeira have been left off the list.

It comes in the same week the government introduced ‘island corridors’ and omitted seven Greek islands from its ‘safe lists’.

Wales had already asked travellers returning from mainland Portugal to self-isolate for 14 days, also excluding the islands.

Hungary, French Polynesia and Reunion have also been added to England’s quarantine list. French Polynesia was added to Wales’ list last week along with Gibraltar, which is still omitted from the English list.

Meanwhile, Sweden has been added to the government’s travel corridors list, meaning those returning to England from the  Scandinavian country no longer have to self-isolate.

The Foreign Office updated its travel advice on Thursday evening to advice against all but essential travel to mainland Portugal and Hungary, and add Sweden to its list of countries exempt from the blanket advice against all non-essential travel.

Changes will come into effect at 4am on Saturday, September 12.

As he has done in recent weeks, transport secretary Grant Shapps announced the changes via his Twitter account.

Shapps also used the platform to remind travellers that it is a criminal offence not to fill out a Passenger Locator Form on return to the UK. He warned “spot checks will be taking place”.