The next review of foreign travel regulations will be by July 27, the government confirmed after a list of ‘safe’ countries not requiring 14-day isolation on return to England was published.

Passengers will not be required to undergo quarantine when they arrive in England from the exempt countries and territories.

Transport secretary Grant Shapps confirmed on Monday that the government will keep foreign travel requirements and exemptions under review.

MoreCovid-19 ‘tests-on-arrival’ touted as alternative to quarantine

He gave a written statement to Parliament confirming the relaxation of quarantine rules from July 10 with the creation of ‘travel corridors’.

The plans were issued on Friday, exempting around 60 countries plus 14 British overseas territories.

However, industry research found that only 25 of the destinations can been accessed from England without travel restrictions on arrival.

Shapps said: “We will keep the conditions in these countries and territories under review. If they worsen we will not hesitate to reintroduce self-isolation requirements.”

He added: “The government is continuing to discuss this approach with the devolved administrations who will set out their own approach in time.

“Passengers travelling from overseas to Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland from outside the common travel area should ensure they follow the laws and guidance which apply there.”

MoreCovid-19 ‘tests-on-arrival’ touted as alternative to quarantine