Canada and New Zealand are among the countries now insisting all new arrivals self-isolate for 14 days.

Updated FCO advice for Canada said: “The Canadian authorities have published a number of recommendations to limit the spread of the virus. All travellers arriving in Canada are being asked to self-isolate for 14 days as a precaution. Boats and cruise ships carrying more than 500 people will be banned from docking at Canadian ports until July.”

MoreLatest coronavirus news and updates

Meanwhile, New Zealand prime minister Jacinda Arden said all arrivals including New Zealand nationals would be required to self-isolate for 14 days, while no cruise ships would be allowed to dock until June 30.

The FCO has also updated its advice for a raft of countries, with current advice as of March 14 listed below:


The Republic of Cyprus government has announced stricter measures from 0100 local time on March 15 for those entering Cyprus. UK nationals (and other non-Cypriots) will not be permitted to enter the Republic of Cyprus for tourist purposes. UK nationals may enter if they are legal residents in the Republic of Cyprus, working in the Republic, attending educational institutions in the Republic or, with prior authorisation from the Cypriot government, have unavoidable professional obligations. This policy will be in force for 15 days, when it will be reviewed. UK nationals may only use the Green Line crossing points if legally resident in the Republic of Cyprus.

This is in addition to the announcement with effect from March 14 which requires that those that have been in the UK in the 14 days prior to arriving in the Republic of Cyprus should self-isolate for 14 days. Those who are due to leave the country before the end of 14 days may do so provided they do not display symptoms. Those who arrived in Cyprus prior to March 14 are not affected by these measures. The above measures are expected to remain in place until further notice.


The Foreign Office advises against all but essential travel to Malta, due to travel restrictions implemented by the Maltese government related to the pandemic.

It has a mandatory 14-day self-quarantine period for all arrivals, which will affect tourists and returning residents.

Asymptomatic visitors can choose to either enter mandatory self-quarantine or to return to their country of origin as soon as possible.

All flights and ferry links to and from Germany, France, Italy, Spain and Switzerland have been suspended. Quarantine is being enforced by spot checks and large fines.


As of March 14, the Foreign Office advises against all but essential travel to Vietnam “due to the high risk of quarantine for British nationals arriving in country”.

It said: “Vietnam has announced that from noon Vietnam time (0500 UK) on 15 March 2020 all foreign nationals will be refused entry to Vietnam if in the previous 14 days they have been to the UK, or any Schengen country, even in transit. This restriction will be in place for 30 days.

“There is a high risk that British nationals will be put into 14 days of quarantine while the authorities impose travel restrictions.

“We are not advising British nationals resident in Vietnam to leave as the risks of quarantine for them are much lower.”


On 13 March, the government of Tunisia announced that it would instruct all those travelling from anywhere in the world to self-isolate for a period of 14 days upon arrival in Tunisia.


The Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) advise against all but essential travel to Denmark, due to the ongoing coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic and in line with various controls and restrictions imposed by the Danish authorities. British nationals in Denmark should follow the advice of the Danish authorities.

The Danish government, from 12 noon, 14 March will temporarily close its borders for foreign nationals who do not have a recognised purpose for entering Denmark. All Danish citizens will be allowed to continue to cross the border. Border checks will be implemented at all entry points. The measures are set to run until 13 April. Travellers from the UK will continue to be able to leave Denmark. Airports remain open at present. We recommend that UK travellers contact their airline operators to arrange return to the UK.


Only Jamaican citizens, spouses and children of Jamaican citizens and foreign residents of Jamaica travelling from the UK, directly or indirectly, will be allowed to enter. Travellers can expect disruption to flights and should contact their airlines, travel agents and tour operators. Airline crew will be given special permission to enter the country but are expected to remain in specified locations with restricted movement.


Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) advise against all but essential travel to Poland, due to the announcement that Poland will close its borders from midnight on Saturday 14 March in response to the coronavirus pandemic. Any British travellers in the country who wish to leave by air or rail should make arrangements to do so before then. Any British travellers that still wish to travel to Poland, should ensure they fall within the categories of traveller that will be permitted by the Polish Government


On 13 March 2020, the President announced that the first case of COVID-19 in Guatemala. As additional restrictions, he indicated that citizens from countries that have cases will not be allowed entry to Guatemala; these include Korea, Japan, China, Italy, France, Spain, Iran and United Kingdom.

For the latest FCO advice, click here.