Leading women have been honoured for their contributions to the travel industry.

The Travel Network Group’s chief operating officer Lisa Henning was named the leader of change at the 2019 everywoman in travel awards.

The honour recognises a woman who makes a significant contribution towards the strategic direction of a business through best practices, employee engagement, improved productivity and innovation.

Judges said Henning won the award for her “constant drive and desire to deliver for members” and making “a major contribution to the company’s financial and strategic success, and its pre-eminent position as the UK’s leading travel consortia”.

Former easyJet chief operating officer Chris Browne was handed the first spirit of everywoman award for travel, which recognises the significant contribution of a woman whose determination, commitment and dedication has changed the landscape for women in business in the UK.

Hayley Goddard, former UK&I resourcing manager at Thomas Cook, won the tomorrow’s leader award – which is handed to a woman under 30 making a significant contribution to the sector.

The everywoman in travel awards celebrate inspirational women whose attitude, work ethic and commitment to supporting other women are making a positive impact on this rapidly evolving industry.

Karen Gill, co-founder, everywoman, said: “Our research shows that access to female role models is a major source of inspiration for 74% of women, who cite them as inspiration to develop their own careers.

“This is why visible female talent is essential in all industries – you can’t be what you can’t see. The travel industry has traditionally been a huge employer of women, but this is still not being reflected at a senior level.

“We firmly believe that by showcasing the success stories of this year’s winners, we can effect real change, encouraging women to progress in their careers and achieve their ambitions.”