Gallery: British Travel & Hospitality Hall of Fame 2018

One of travel’s most promising young managers was recognised at the annual British Travel & Hospitality Hall of Fame on Monday night.

Anna Clarke, Tui general manager for cruise customer experience, beat six other under-35s to scoop the young manager of the year award at the event at London’s Dorchester hotel.

Clarke said: “I really do not know how I won against such amazing competition, but it’s great to be recognised for doing a job I love. This can only spur me on in the future.”

The award for young manager of the year in the hospitality sector went to Oliver Milne-Watson, hotel manager at The Beaumont in Mayfair, London.

The young travel entrepreneur of the year award went to the chief executive of start-up Vchain Technology Irra Ariella Khi, while the hospitality award went to Vivek Chadha, founder of Nine Group Hotels and Investments.

All 26 finalists in the four categories underwent face-to-face interviews with Hall of Fame judging panels.

As well as awards for under‑35s, four of the industry’s leading business figures were formally inducted into the Hall of Fame.

They were G Adventures founder Bruce Poon Tip, former Momondo Group chief executive Hugo Burge, former UNWTO secretary general Taleb Rifai and Deloitte global leader for travel and aviation Graham Pickett.

They were honoured alongside one inductee from the hospitality sector: Tim Martin, founder of pub chain JD Wetherspoon.

Carnival Corporation was also honoured, taking home the sustainable business award.

Other recipients included John Vincent and Henry Dimbleby, co-founders of healthy fast food chain Leon, who won the annual business excellence award.
The Hall of Fame is part of Jacobs Media Group, which also includes Travel Weekly.

GalleryBritish Travel & Hospitality Hall of Fame 2018