Winners announced in 25th SPAA awards

Winners announced in 25th SPAA awards

Scotland’s top travel agents and suppliers were honoured at the prestigious Scottish Passenger Agents’ Association (SPAA) awards ceremony last night.

The biggest event in the Scottish travel industry’s calendar was once again hosted by Superbreak’s Graham Balmforth, alongside Love to Travel owner Joanne Dooey and Travel Weekly’s group managing director Stuart Parish.

A total of 650 people attended the 25th annual awards ceremony at the Doubletree Hilton in the city centre.

Drew Stewart, who became an honorary member of the SPAA in March, went home with the lifetime achievement award in his 50th year working in the travel industry.

Stewart also secured the leisure representative of the year award.

Alan Glen, the departing SPAA president, called Stewart “a great favourite” with agents all over the Scotland and “a great SPAA supporter throughout his long career”.

If Only scooped two holiday awards – Luxury Tour Operator of the year and Independent Long Haul Operator of the year.

Meanwhile Celebrity Cruises picked up two gongs in the cruise and ferry category after another eye-catching year.

In the airline category the awards were spread evenly with claiming the holiday airline of the year and British Airways winning domestic airline of the year.

But Super Break picked up the most awards on the night, winning three in total in the Hotel/Short Break & UK Holidays category.

MoreGlen completes SPAA presidency tenure with APD regret


This is a community-moderated forum.
All post are the individual views of the respective commenter and are not the expressed views of Travel Weekly.
By posting your comments you agree to accept our Terms & Conditions.

More in News